Jump to content

Scottish Referendum: Voting areas by time

Declaration times for the Scottish referendum are difficult to forecast owing to the lack of precedents. For example, the 1997 devolution referendum had two propositions, while the circumstances of the 2012 local elections were different in significant respects. The times given here have been drawn up after consulting the 32 Scottish councils, many of which do not wish to give estimates. These can only be taken as a rough guide. Check back on this page as some times may change in the light of fresh information before polling day.

Voting areas with expected declaration times in chronological order.

1Comhairle nan Eilean Siar02:00
2North Lanarkshire 02:00
3Inverclyde 02:00
4Orkney 02:00
5East Lothian 02:00
6Perth & Kinross 02:00
7Moray 02:00
8Clackmannanshire 02:30
9West Dunbartonshire 03:00
10Dumfries & Galloway 03:00
11Angus 03:00
12South Lanarkshire 03:00
13East Renfrewshire 03:00
14Dundee 03:00
15Falkirk 03:00
16Renfrewshire 03:00
17East Ayrshire 03:00
18Aberdeenshire 03:00
19Stirling 03:00
20Midlothian 03:30
21Argyll & Bute 03:30
22West Lothian 03:30
23South Ayrshire 03:30
24Shetland 03:30
25East Dunbartonshire 03:30
26Fife 04:00
27Highland 04:00
28North Ayrshire 04:30
29Scottish Borders 05:00
30Edinburgh 05:00
31Glasgow 05:00
32Aberdeen 06:00